New Mexico Municipal Courts

New Mexico Municipal courts are courts of limited jurisdiction. Municipal courts are city courts and not state or federal courts. While governed by the Constitution and state law, municipal courts are independent arms of city government.

New Mexico Municipal Courts are not courts of record, do not offer jury trials, and do not hear civil cases.

There are currently one hundred and three incorporated municipalities in New Mexico; There are currently 80 municipal courts.